October 2, 2009

EbscoHost citation enhancements

The EbscoHost databases (including Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, Education Research Complete and MLA International Bibliography, been enhanced to include the following:

* Support for the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th Edition.
* Improved support for the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 5th Edition
* Ability for EBSCOhost customers to export bibliographic data in XML format (see this FAQ.)

September 10, 2009

Gale Databases Available

A number of Gale Databases are now available through the Oregon Statewide Database Licensing Program. There are a large number of databases and they cover a broad range of topics, so here a brief overview of the databases available, organized by broad topics. If we have a similar database in EbscoHost, it is listed for comparison.

General Databases

Business & Economics Databases

Education - see also K-12 databases below

Health & Medicine

Law

Sciences

Social Sciences & Humanities

K-12 Resources

Spanish Language Resources

  • Informe - compare to Fuente Academica

Public Library-Oriented Resources

  • Culinary Arts Collection - of the major cooking and nutrition magazines. Coverage includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information
  • Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture Collection - collection of nearly 50 journals focused specifically on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture
  • Home Improvement Collection -includes such topics as architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and many more
  • Popular Magazines - includes 1000 of the most searched magazine titles from Gale databases

September 8, 2009

New Database: Hospitality & Tourism Complete

OSU Libraries has established a subscription to Hospitality & Tourism Complete.

Hospitality & Tourism Complete™ covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection contains more than 828,000 records, with coverage dating as far back as 1965.

There is full text for more than 480 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books. Full-text periodicals include Asia Pacific Journal of Tourism Research, Current Issues in Tourism, Hotel & Motel Management, International Journal of Tourism Research, Journal of Ecotourism, Journal of Leisure Research, Journal of Sport Tourism, Journal of Sustainable Tourism, Leisure Sciences, Leisure Studies, Nation’s Restaurant News, Restaurant Business, Tourism & Hospitality Research, and many more.

Sources are both domestic and international in range and scope, with material collected from countries and regions such as Canada, Australia, Europe and Asia.

OSU Libraries would like to thank the students of OSU Cascades, as their Technology Resource Fees helped pay for this new database.

September 2, 2009

Sustainability Science Abstracts part of Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management

Sustainability Science Abstracts is part of the Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management (ESPM) database.

Sustainability Science Abstracts was expanded and merged with the Human Population and Natural Resources Management section of ESPM. This new expanded database explores all aspects of sustainable development, human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management. Also covered are the topics of conservation of natural resources, ensuring the attainment and continued satisfaction of human needs in the present as well as maintaining the potential to meet the needs and aspirations of future generations. This involves the maintenance of species diversity and protection of the habitat/ecosystems they rely upon. The economy is an important aspect of sustainability and should be seen as “a means to an end” not an end in itself. Coverage includes relevant papers, reports, books and reviews from standard peer-reviewed scientific journals. To ensure comprehensive coverage, material from conference proceedings and hard-to-find gray literature has also been summarized.

Major areas of coverage include:
o Human Population Dynamics
o Population - Environment Relations
o Population Statistics and Policy
o Ecotourism
o Sustainable Living and Consumption
o Environmental Awareness and Education
o Environmental Law, Conventions, & Policy
o Sustainable Resource Base: Atmosphere; Land; Water and Biodiversity
o Economic Drivers
o Sustainable Development and Production
o Sustainable Energy
o Sustainable Transportation/Mobility

Dates of Coverage: 1995 - Current

New Database added to Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management: Environment Abstracts

Environment Abstracts is now included in the Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management (ESPM) database. Environment Abstracts (formerly Environment Abstracts published by LexisNexis) encompasses all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies. As of 1994, the database also provides expanded coverage of energy-related issues.

Environment Abstracts indexes more than 950 journals published in the U.S. and abroad. The database also covers conference papers and proceedings, special reports from international agencies, non-governmental organizations, universities, associations and private corporations. Other materials selectively indexed include significant monographs, government studies and newsletters.

Subject Areas:

* Agriculture
* Air pollution
* Control technologies
* Endangered species
* Energy
* Environmental design
* Environmental education
* Environmental law and policy
* Environmental safety
* Geophysical and climate chance
* Global warming
* International environmental policy
* Land use and pollution
* Marine pollution
* Noise pollution
* Population
* Population studies
* Radiological contamination
* Resource management
* Solid and toxic waste
* Sustainable development
* Toxicological effects
* Transportation
* Waste management
* Water pollution
* Wildlife / biodiversity

Dates of Coverage: 1975 - current

September 1, 2009

Electronic Resource: Science Research

Science Research is a freely available federated search engine produced by Deep Web Technologies.

ScienceResearch.com is a free, publicly available deep web search engine that uses advanced “federated search technology” to return high quality results by submitting your search query - in real-time - to other well respected search engines then collating, ranking and dropping duplicates of the results. It searches open access journals, government sites, news sites and other freely available resources.

Database News: ACToR (Aggregated Computational Toxicology Resource)

ACToR (Aggregated Computational Toxicology Resource) is a freely available database produced by the United States Environmental Protection Agency.

ACToR (Aggregated Computational Toxicology Resource) is a collection of databases collated or developed by the US EPA National Center for Computational Toxicology (NCCT). More than 200 sources of publicly available data on environmental chemicals have been brought together and made searchable by chemical name and other identifiers, and by chemical structure. Data includes chemical structure, physico-chemical values, in vitro assay data and in vivo toxicology data. Chemicals include, but are not limited to, high and medium production volume industrial chemicals, pesticides (active and inert ingredients), and potential ground and drinking water contaminants.

Database News: VITIS: Viticulture and Enology Abstracts

VITIS: Viticulture and Enology Abstracts is a freely available database for resources in viticulture, enology and related fields.

Provided by the Julius Kahn-Institut, VITIS provides indexing to scientific articles on the following subject areas: morphology, physiology, and biochemistry of grapevines; soil science; genetics and grapevine breeding; phytopathology and grapevine protection; cellar techniques; economics of viticulture and enology; enology; and microbiology of wine. Coverage is from 1969-present.

August 24, 2009

Database Trial: SimplyMap

OSU Libraries has established a trial to the SimplyMap electronic resource. This trial will run through October 2, 2009.

SimplyMap is an Internet-based mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables.

The trial provides access the EASI ® Standard Package, which includes data from the year 2000, Current Estimates, Five Year Projections, the Historical Package, and the EASI MRI & Life Stages Package.

The Standard Package incorporates the following data:
• Demographic Variables
• Retail Sales, Store Groups, and Food Service Variables
• EASI Sales and Other Potential Variables
• EASI Quality of Life Variables
• Consumer Price Index Variables
• General Employment (by Place of Work)
• General Establishment (by Place of Work)
• Detailed Employment (by Place of Work)
• Detailed Establishments (by Place of Work)
• Detailed Consumer Expenditure Variables
• EASI Profile Variables
• Ancestry Tabulations
• D&B’s Points-of-Interest File

During the trial, users can create a workspace by clicking on “Create Personal Workspace” and entering an e-mail address and password. Users can also click on the “CLICK HERE to login to a temporary workspace (your work will not be saved)” to explore SimplyMap without creating an account.

Please let us know what you think of this electronic resource. Comments can be submitted on the Database Trial Evaluation Form.

July 30, 2009

New Database: Vault Online Career Library

OSU Libraries and OSU Career Services has collaborated to provide access to The Vault Online Career Library, a career services site.

The Vault Online Career Library is a career services site which includes
• Occupational Profiles
• Industry Overviews
• Company Profiles
• Internship Database
• Diversity Profiles
• Career Surveys
• Career Advice Articles
• Videos on job searches and interviews, company recruiting videos, internship videos, and workplace diversity

« Previous entries ·